NCAA DIvisions

As previously stated, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has a lot of schools registered with it. To create a system that works well in terms of administration and so forth, they created three different divisions for colleges all across the country. There are rules and regulations, as well as requirements for a college to fit into one of the divisions. For the purpose of this article, we will be discussing Division 1 and how it operates.

Division 1

To date, Division 1 has a total of 354 schools registered to the NCAA. This division does not have unregistered colleges which makes it simpler when enforcing rules. It is easier to control colleges when they are all bound by the same set of rules. If one is unregistered and a dispute arises, it might be complicated to resolve it.

The NCAA governs how students conduct themselves while they play sports. Academics being the core business of colleges, is also enforced by the NCAA. They have strict requirements for new students as well as returning ones. If a student fails to meet the requirements, they could possibly miss out on a few games until their grades are better, or worst-case scenario, miss out on the whole season. The reasoning behind this is that we all need an education to thrive in the real world. Even professional basketball players need some form of education for them to make smart investment moves. The other reason behind it is that not every player that plays college basketball is going to make it as a professional. They will need something to fall back on if the dream to play professional basketball dies due to an injury, a decrease in performance, or multiple other reasons. Having good grades and excellent skills on the court improves a student’s chance of landing a scholarship.